Oldies and Rock

Three years ago, my parents FINALLY let me buy music and these are the two albums i bought…..

‘The Best Of The Monkees’ – The Monkees

After my speech teacher (shoutout to Ms.Erskine) showed us some episodes of ‘The Monkees’ I fell in love with the TV show, and I started to listen to their music. I was absolutely obsessed with the song ‘Believer’ and opening song of their show. So naturally, when I got the opportunity to buy some music I bought ‘The Best of the Monkees’ album from Amazon.

“I’m a Believer” -The Monkees

‘Mylo Xyloto’ – Coldplay

Basically, i heard paradise on the radio over and over again and loved that song and i LOVED  the album ‘Viva la Vida or death and all his friends’ so i decided that this album would be as good so i decided to buy the latest one from Coldplay.

“Charlie Brown” -Coldplay

Now, as I’ve grown up my music taste has also evolved and i listen to a lot of British artists. [ Patiently waiting for Adele to release her next album]. I’ve always loved bands so I’ve started listening to a lot of Indie/rock band music.  I’ve also “discovered” acoustic music and I LOVE IT SO MUCH (you don’t even know…..) and instrumental music like “River Flows in You” – Yiruma is another favorite. I’ve rediscovered French music, and i’m basically obsessed. French music is really beautiful and its perfect for rainy days or early Sunday mornings.  Coeur de Pirate, MC Solaar, and Stromae are my favorite French artists. And lastly, i can’t ever forget to mention my favorite artists {ever]….One Direction, and if you’re going to judge me..then okay. Now i am going to say that their first album is BAD. It brings back a lot of good memories but the album its self and the lyrics are just terrible [there are some exceptions like “Moments”]. However, they’re latest albums “Midnight Memories” and “Four” are MUCH better and you should give listen to them before bashing them.

“Act My Age” – One Direction

“Papaoutai” -Stromae

3 thoughts on “Oldies and Rock”

  1. I personally think its fantastic that you are able to appreciate and listen to such a wide variety of music, not only be genres but also in language! Several of the groups you mentioned are my favorites, especially “River Flows in You” (my brother can actually play it on the piano), The Monkees or Coldplay.

    Like

Leave a comment